Find out information here about F1 Turkish Grand Prix held at Istanbul Park Circuit. Know all about Formula 1 Turkish GP here.

Turkish Grand Prix

F1 Turkish Grand Prix made its debut in Formula 1 series in 2005 season. The race is held at the newly built Istanbul Park Circuit, built under the guidance of renowned German civil engineer Hermann Tilke. The circuit is anti-clockwise making the experience of driving here different.


Laps 58
Circuit length 5.338 km (3.317 mi)
Race length 309.396 km (192.250 mi)
First held 2005
Most wins (drivers) Felipe Massa
Most wins (constructors) Ferrari (3)
Lap record 1:24.770 - JP Montoya (2005)

  • Felipe Massa won Turkish Grand Prix in 2006, 07 and 08. The constructor was Ferrari all three times.
  • Kimi Raikkonen won the race in 2005. The constructor was McLaren-Mercedes.
Istanbul Park Circuit
The circuit follows the contours of the land, dipping and rising frequently. Turn 8 is considered the best corner on the track. It is a quadruple apex corner exerting the load of 5G (5 times the force of gravity) for four seconds. The track features 14 turns, including eight lefts and six rights. Wide variety of corners mean that the drivers have real challenge. The track is built on four different ground levels and the overtaking opportunities are not many. Yet the track is such that the drivers can make mistakes.

Spectator Facilities
Seating capacity is around 130,000. About 25,000 of these seats are in the main grandstand. Parking space is available for about 12,000 cars. Two seven-floor VIP towers have been built providing the guests sweeping view of the circuit.