F1 Bahrain Grand Prix is the first GP to be held in the Middle East. Formula 1 Bahrain GP is held on Sakhir Circuit in Bahrain.

Bahrain Grand Prix

Bahrain Grand Prix is the first F1 GP to be held in the Middle East. The first Grand Prix in Bahrain was awarded by the FIA as the best organized Grand Prix.


Laps 57
Circuit length 5.412 km (3.363 mi)
Race length 308.238 km (191.539 mi)
First held 2004
Most wins (drivers) Fernando Alonso (2), Felipe Massa(2)
Most wins (constructors) Ferrari (3)


Huge run-off area is a feature of Sakhir circuit in Bahrain. This has made Bahrain one of the safest tracks in the world. It also prevents sand getting onto the track. Located 30 km south-west of the island's capital, Manama, the Herman Tilke designed circuit has five track layouts within one complex. The track surface has excellent adhesive qualities.

The circuit's breadth differs at the end of the various straights. Diverse racing lines and the 12-corner design ensures easy overtaking.

The circuit has 50,000 grandstand seats, all providing sweeping views of the course. The spectators can see the cars heading into the external desert area, and then returning to the oasis-styled infield. The media centre can accommodate up to 500 journalists.

Interesting Fact
Traditional champagne is not sprayed on the podium by the drivers, though alcoholic beverages are allowed in Bahrain. As a substitute, they spray a local non-alcoholic rosewater drink.

Drivers Having Multiple Wins

  • Lex Davison (4) and Michael Schumacher (4) hold the records of most drivers titles.
  • Ferrari (10) and McLaren (10) hold the records of most constructors titles.
Albert Park, at short distance from Melbourne central business district, is the home to the Australian Grand Prix in Melbourne. A 16-turn circuit, it currently measures 5.3 kilometres. It has been built using a combination of public roads within Albert Park. Melbourne circuit offers a smooth and high-speed test for Formula One teams and drivers.

Drivers Having Multiple Wins

Felipe Massa 2007, 2008
Fernando Alonso 2005, 2006