Challenging layout makes F1 Japanese Grand Prix distinct. Also referred as Suzuka Grand Prix, the Formula 1 Japanese GP is a highly reputed track.

Japanese Grand Prix

F1 Japanese Grand Prix, known for its exciting and challenging layout, is traditionally held at the end of the season. Many a championship has been won and lost here. Suzuka Circuit of Japan had been the place where great drivers have dominated their skills. However, it was replaced in 2007 by Fuji Speedway. The track is located in Japan's populous Shizuoka Prefecture, just 62 miles from Tokyo


Laps 67
Circuit length 4.563 km (2.835 mi)
Race length 305.416 km (189.780 mi)
First held 1963
Most wins (drivers) Michael Schumacher (6)
Most wins (constructors) McLaren (8)
Lap record 1:28.193 - L Hamilton (2007)

Built under guidance of track design guru Hermann Tilke, Fuji Speedway has Mount Fuji as a backdrop and an overtaking-friendly 1.5-kilometre straight. The track was originally built in the style of an American speedway in 1966. In 2000, Toyota bought majority stake in the track and invested millions of dollars to renovate the track. It has widened tarmac run-off areas. Infrastructure has been upgraded and modern facilities installed.

Drivers Having Multiple Wins

Michael Schumacher 1995, 1997, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2004
Gerhard Berger 1987, 1991
Ayrton Senna 1988, 1993
Damon Hill 1994, 1996
Mika Häkkinen 1998, 1999