Held at Sau Paulo in Brazil, F1 Brazilian Grand Prix is among the most exciting circuits in the world. Driving in Brazilian GP is something of joy for the drivers.

Brazilian Grand Prix

Brazilian Grand prix, held at Sao Paulo, Brazil, has witnessed some of the most exciting and memorable races in the Formula 1 history. One of the most exciting circuits on the F1 calendar, driving here is pleasure for drivers.


Laps 71
Circuit length 4.309 km (2.677 mi)
Race length 305.909 km (190.067 mi)
First held 1972
Most wins (drivers) Alain Prost (6)
Most wins (constructors) McLaren (11)

In the 1970s, when Emerson Fittipaldi tasted success on international level, the Brazilians decided that they would also have a Grand Prix. In 1973 the track hosted its first championship Grand Prix. Fittipaldi, Carlos Pace and Carlos Reutemann distributed the spoils among themselves in the 1970s. In early 1980s a $15m redevelopment programme was agreed here. Those were the heydays of Ayrton Senna.

No Brazilian has been the world champion after Senna's death. Yet the passion of Brazilians for the sport is unchanged.

Driver Fernando Alonso became the youngest ever Formula One World Champion at the 2005 Brazilian Grand Prix.

Drivers Having Multiple Wins

Alain Prost 1982, 1984, 1985, 1987, 1988, 1990
Carlos Reutemann 1972, 1977, 1978, 1981
Michael Schumacher 1994, 1995, 2000, 2002
Emerson Fittipaldi 1973, 1974
Nelson Piquet 1983, 1986
Nigel Mansell 1989, 1992
Ayrton Senna 1991, 1993
Mika Häkkinen 1998, 1999
Juan Pablo Montoya 2004, 2005