This section deals with F1 championships which are popularly known as Grand Prix races. Know here about Formula One Championship.


Formula One or F1, as it is often called, is the highest level of motorsports. The Formula 1 world championship season includes a series of races, known as Grand Prix races. These races are usually held on purpose-built circuits, and sometimes on closed city streets. Monaco Grand Prix in Monte Carlo is known for its street circuit.

Grand Prix races originated in Europe. Today, though the races are held in other parts of the world too, with the objective of making the sport popular worldwide, the centre of activities is still Europe. The number of Grand Prix or GP races held in a season has varied over the years. Inaugural 1950 season had only seven races. However, over the year, the races in a season have tripled the size.

Silverstone Circuit of England and Monza Circuit of Italy have been among the oldest venues to hold the F1 Grand Prix. Bahrain Grand Prix is held on a high-tech purpose-built desert track. Sepang International Circuit of Malaysia is known for its long straight providing ample overtaking opportunities. Suzuka Circuit of Japan has always been highly challenging for the drivers. Marina Bay Circuit is a street circuit in Singapore which also hosted the first-ever night Grand Prix.