Hockenheim and Nurburgring circuits which have been hosting F1 German Grand Prix are both known for atmospheric experience. Get informed here about Formula 1 German GP.

German Grand Prix

F1 German Grand Prix became part of the Formula 1 World Championship in 1951. Organized by the Automobile Club of Germany, the venue has witnessed the demonstration of the skills of many a great driver since its inception. Drivers of the likes of Michael Schumacher and Ayrton Senna have entertained viewers with their exploits. German Grand Prix at Hockenheim has been one of the most atmospheric races in Formula One.


Laps 67
Circuit length 4.574 km (2.842 mi)
Race length 306.458 km (190.433 mi)
First held 1926
Most wins (drivers) Rudolf Caracciola (6)
Most wins (constructors) Ferrari (19)
Lap record 1:13.780 - K Raikkonen (2004)

German Grand Prix has been shared for long between Hockenheim and Nurburgring circuits. Hockenheim circuit veers through the forest before looping into the wonderful stadium section around which large grandstands have been built. However, after Niki Lauda suffered horrific burns at the Nurburgring in 1976, most of the races have been hosted by Hockenheim.

Drivers with Multiple Wins

Michael Schumacher 1995, 2002, 2004, 2006
Juan Manuel Fangio 1954, 1956, 1957
Jackie Stewart 1968, 1971, 1973
Nelson Piquet 1981, 1986, 1987
Ayrton Senna 1988, 1989, 1990
Alberto Ascari 1951, 1952
Tony Brooks 1958, 1959
John Surtees 1963, 1964
Jacky Ickx 1969, 1972
Nigel Mansell 1991, 1992
Alain Prost 1984, 1993
Gerhard Berger 1994, 1997