Held at famous Monaco Circuit, F1 Monaco Grand Prix or Monaco GP is among the most prestigious Formula 1 races. Know more about it here.

Monaco Grand Prix

F1 Monaco Grand Prix, among the most prestigious Formula 1 races, is held on the Monaco Circuit every year. Since first race in 1929 the venue is constantly holding the race. The race is considered the ultimate test of driving skills in Formula One.

Monaco Grand Prix Information

Laps 77
Circuit Length 3.340 km (2.075 mi)
Race Length 260.520 km (161.887 mi)
First held 1929
Most wins (drivers) Ayrton Senna (6)
Most wins (constructors) McLaren (15)

The race is organized on a narrow course carved in the streets of Monte Carlo, with many elevation changes and tight corners, making it one of the most demanding tracks in Formula One. Though the speeds are relatively low here, the place is quite dangerous to drive. With 77 laps, Monaco Grand Prix poses great challenge for Formula One drivers. Average fastest speed in Monaco Grand Prix has risen from 50mph (80 kph) to 88mph (143 kph).

The race is unique in having been held on the same circuit every time since its inception.

Record Holders
  • Ayrton Senna of Brazil has bagged six victories, winning five consecutively between 1989 and 1993.
  • Graham Hill is known as Mr Monaco due to his five Monaco wins in the 1960s.
  • Michael Schumacher has won Monaco Grand Prix five times.
Grand Prix Dates 21 to 24 May 2009
20 to 23 May 2010

Automobile Club de Monaco
BP 464 - 23, blvd Albert Ier
MC 98012 Monaco
Principality of Monaco

Since the beginning of Monaco Grand Prix, two drivers have crashed and ended up in the harbour, the most famous being Alberto Ascari in 1955.

Triple Formula One champion Nelson Piquet said famously about racing at Monaco:

"It is like trying to cycle round your living room"

Drivers Having Multiple Wins

Ayrton Senna 1987, 1989, 1990, 1991, 1992, 1993
Graham Hill 1963, 1964, 1965, 1968, 1969
Michael Schumacher            1994, 1995, 1997, 1999, 2001
Alain Prost 1984, 1985, 1986, 1988
Stirling Moss 1956, 1960, 1961
Jackie Stewart 1966, 1971, 1973
Juan Manuel Fangio 1950, 1957
Maurice Trintignant 1955, 1958
Niki Lauda 1975, 1976
Jody Scheckter 1977, 1979
David Coulthard 2000, 2002
Fernando Alonso 2006, 2007

Note: David Coulthard and Fernando Alonso are still driving.