Force India F1 is a recently constituted Formula 1 team. Based at Silverstone in United Kingdom, the team has Vijay Mallya, an Indian Millionaire, as the brain behind it.

Force India F1

Force India F1 came into being in October 2007 when Vijay Mallya, an Indian millionaire, together with the Mol family, established a joint-venture company called Orange India Holdings (OIH). They purchased the Spyker Formula One Team from Spyker Cars N.V. for € 88 million and renamed it Force India F1. Airbus and EABS are technologically assisting Force India F1.

Fast Facts
Base of Force India Formula 1 is at Silverstone, Northamptonshire, United Kingdom. Race drivers are Adrian Sutil and Giancarlo Fisichella. Vitantonio Liuzzi is working as test driver. The car uses Bridgestone tyres.

The team's origins can be traced back to 1991, when a F1 team was founded at Silverstone with the name Jordan Grand Prix. The squad and facilities were purchased by the Midland group in 2005 and rechristened Midland F1 in 2006. The running costs of the team forced the owners to sell it to Spyker Cars towards the end of the 2006 season. However, the Spyker too could not maintain the team for long, leading to its sale to the Orange India Holdings group, led by Dr. Vijay Mallya and Michiel Mol.

Chassis, Logo and Drivers
For the first part of the 2008 season, Force India used VJM-01 chassis, an updated version of the previous year's Spyker car. The team is using customer Ferrari engines in 2008, having a deal with Ferrari running to 2010. The team will be using the Indian flag in its team logo from 2008. Force India will construct its own cars, rather than using customer chassis. The team has a contract with driver Adrian Sutil for 2008. Former Spyker test drivers Roldan Rodriguez and Giedo van der Garde are working as test drivers for Force India F1. In November 2007, the team invited Vitantonio Liuzzi, Christian Klien, Giancarlo Fisichella, Ralf Schumacher and Franck Montagny to give their services as drivers.

Kingfisher, a brand owned by Vijaya Mallya, is the primary sponsor of Force India One. Other sponsors for year 2008 are ICICI Bank, Medion, Kanyan Capital and Reliance Industries Limited.