GP2 Series serves as the feeder sport for F1. With Dallara as the sole constructor, GP2 Series gives the drivers perfect training ground for Formula 1.

GP2 Series

GP2 Series has been conceived as the Formula 1 feeder sport, after the discontinuation of Formula 3000 which had for long served the purpose. The inaugural season of GP2 Series was held in 2005. Constructors in the competition are Dallara, Engine suppliers Mecachrome, and tyres are supplied by Bridgestone.

The series has been designed to make it the perfect training ground for Formula One. Racing has been affordable for the teams. All drivers use the same chassis, engine and tyre supplier. So the driver's ability can be fully tested. The races are usually held as support races at Formula One race weekends to give drivers first hand experience of the Grand Prix environment. The organizers also use the infrastructure set up for F1 event.

Graduation to F1
All GP2 Series champions have successfully graduated into Formula One. Williams hired the 2005 Champion Nico Rosberg for the 2006, 2006 winner Lewis Hamilton entered F1 the following year with McLaren and the 2007 Champion Timo Glock to Toyota for 2008. As for Glock, this was his return to Formula One. The runners-up also got their chances in F1.

The Race
The drivers have a 30-minute free practice session and a 30-minute qualifying session on Friday. The grid order is decided in the qualifying session. The race, with length of 180 kilometres, is held on Saturday. For every driver, it is mandatory to make a pit stop in which at least two tyres are changed.

A sprint race of 120 km is organized on Sunday. Grid order for the race is decided by results on Saturday. The top 8 drivers of Saturday race are reversed, meaning who finished 8th starts from pole position and who finished first starts from the eighth place.

On Sunday there is a sprint race of 120 kilometres. The grid is decided by the Saturday result with top 8 being reversed, so the driver who finished 8th on Saturday will start from pole position and the winner will start from 8th place.