The Calendar for the 2011 F1 Grand Prix is out and interestingly, one of the 20 Grand Prix races is scheduled at an Indian track.

2011 F1 Grand Prix Calendar

The F1 Grand Prix 2011 event is just around the corner. The calendar for the event is out and doing rounds on the internet and sports weeklies. It is decided that India will be a part of this much awaited car racing event. After many speculations about the number of races planned for the upcoming season, it was finally announced that 2011 F1 Grand Prix will consist of 20 races, including the usual 19 races and an additional Indian Grand Prix. The F1 Grand Prix Calendar 2011 was issued on November 3, 2010. However, 2011 Grand Prix scheduled to be held in Bahrain was cancelled due to the infamous Bahraini Protests. Thus, the F1 Grand Prix Calendar 2011 consists of total nineteen races, which include the Indian Grand Prix.

The changes in the 2011 F1 Grand Prix Calendar were done due to different reasons. The Yas Marina Circuit in Abu Dhabi needed some serious modifications, because the track was criticized for lack of overtaking, in 2010 races. So, renovation work was done on this track to improve the performance, suiting the new Pirelli Tires and drag reduction system. The Bahrain Grand Prix was initially planned to be the opening race of the season, on March 13, 2011. However, the race was called off because of some anti-government protests in the country. Later, it was scheduled and re-scheduled to be on the final slots. Ultimately, Bahrain finally abandoned its bid for returning to the calendar. Subsequently, the Indian circuit was added to the F1 Grand Prix Calendar 2011. Initially named as Jaypee Group Circuit, the Indian circuit is now called the Buddh International Circuit. The Malaysian Grand Prix also changed its name to the Malaysia Grand Prix as part of the efforts to promote the country. Given below is the final calendar of 2011 F1 Grand Prix.

Round Race Title Grand Prix Circuit Date Time  
Local UTC
1 Qantas Australian Grand Prix Australian GP Albert Park, Melbourne 27-Mar 17:00 6:00
2 Petronas Malaysia Grand Prix Malaysia GP Sepang International Circuit, Kuala Lumpur 10-Apr 16:00 8:00
3 UBS Chinese Grand Prix Chinese GP Shanghai International Circuit, Shanghai 17-Apr 15:00 7:00
4 DHL Turkish Grand Prix Turkish GP Istanbul Park, Istanbul 8-May 15:00 12:00
5 Gran Premio de Espana Santander Spanish GP Circuit de Catalunya, Barcelona 22-May 14:00 12:00
6 Grand Prix de Monaco Monaco GP Circuit de Monaco, Monte Carlo 29-May 14:00 12:00
7 Grand Prix du Canada Canadian GP Circuit Gilles Villeneuve, Montreal 12-Jun 13:00 17:00
8 Grand Prix of Europe European GP Valencia Street Circuit, Valencia 26-Jun 14:00 12:00
9 Santander British Grand Prix British GP Silverstone Circuit, Silverstone 10-Jul 13:00 12:00
10 Grober Preis Santander von Deutschland German GP Nurburgring, Nurburg 24-Jul 14:00 12:00
11 Eni Magyar Nagydij Hungarian GP Hungaroring, Budapest 31-Jul 14:00 12:00
12 Shell Belgian Grand Prix Belgian GP Circuit de Spa-Francorchamps, Spa 28-Aug 14:00 12:00
13 Gran Premio Santander d'Italia Italian GP Autodromo Nazionale Monza, Monza 11-Sep 14:00 12:00
14 SingTel Singapore Grand Prix Singapore GP Marina Bay Street Circuit, Marina Bay 25-Sep 20:00 12:00
15 Japanese Grand Prix Japanese GP Suzuka Circuit, Suzuka 9-Oct 15:00 6:00
16 Korean Grand Prix Korean GP Korean International Circuit, Yeongam 16-Oct 15:00 6:00
17 Grand Prix of India Indian GP Buddh International Circuit, Greater Noida 30-Oct 15:00 9:30
18 Etihad Airways Abu Dhabi Grand Prix Abu Dhabi GP Yas Marina Circuit, Abu Dhabi 13-Nov 17:00 13:00
19 Grande Premio Petrobras do Brasil Brazilian GP Autodromo Jose Carlos Pace, Sao Paulo 27-Nov 14:00 16:00